Post Traumatic Lay-Off Syndrome…Gotta Love It!

I laugh when I am told that I make being laid off look good. People hear that I am traveling, and think that I am living this glamorous lifestyle. I am currently in the Caribbean, just spent a month in London and made a quick trip to South Africa.

The reality of this “Laid Off Lifestyle” is that I sublet my apartment to a good friend who is going through his own hard times, on St. Kitts I am sleeping on an air mattress in my nephew’s living room and I went to London as a nanny/tutor. I feel like the phoenix risen from the flames, or at least I escaped a small house fire.

I get my tickets from frequent flyer miles and am using my savings to support myself. I bury my head in my computer everyday to stay connected with the outside world. When the internet goes out here, I truly have a meltdown as it is the one way I can keep in touch with my old life as “Out On The Town LA Girl”. That girl went to fabulous parties all the time, premieres, art openings – Seriously think “Sex and the City” but West Coast. That and my apartment is waaaay bigger than Carrie Bradshaw’s. I also have never owned a pair of Manolo Blahnik’s and probably never will. Almost all of my “labels” are fake (God bless my trip to Thailand last November!). I would also like to thank Nordstrom Rack and Marshall’s – I have many a killer outfit from those two places.

I had a BlackBerry in that life and I worked for some celebrities. I got to arrange all kinds of fantastic VIP gatherings, got to do a ton of work with fantastic charities and felt that I was making a difference in some small way. Now, making a difference is helping my nephew to keep the centipedes at bay or teaching him to hard boil an egg.

These days, premiers and parties are replaced by a local dive bar, “Rocky’s”. It really is a dive bar because all the people that hang out there are Dive Masters and instructors. One of my favorite “it is what it is” people down here is a local captain of a dive charter group, who goes by the name of Captain Crabby. He is the type of man that when asked how he got here, he responds, “On a plane.” (Side note – Several of us think he is leftover from the days when St. Kitts was a haven for the Witness Protection Program. Well… it was, until a bookie for the mob decided he should tell people on the island he was here as a part of the program. Needless to say, that according to local lore, the program was relocated shortly thereafter). Crabby is the same man that still does not know how to use a computer and stares in awe at my Mac laptop when I have it out. He makes a mean Bloody Mary and knows all the good local bars to hit up . He will fill your afternoon with laughter, if you will just take a moment to open yourself up to it.

Yes, I am getting to experience a lot of truly amazing people and places. They have taught me much about life and how I see things. I am staying open these days for all the possibilities, because I am truly living a miracle everyday. Or maybe it is just pure and simple by the skin of my teeth luck. I’m okay with that.

Leave a Reply

