Red Wine – Truth Serum!!

Ya know what I like about red wine? That it is like a truth serum for us girls. Seriously – Get a few glasses in almost anyone and then just sit back and wait…. for… it….you won’t be disappointed.

I was with a group having dinner and one of the members of our party brought up the familiar topic of red flags. This got us all to talking about the ones we had seen coming or the ones we look back on and realize that they were there, but MAN did we choose to ignore them!

Ok, I’m going to share a few here – No offense to anyone I have dated that thinks they may fall into any of these categories we mentioned (And it’s not always about YOU, so shut it!).

  1. The one that says they’ve never had their heart broken. This one is a sleeper. Apparently they drop this one on ya after they gotcha hook, line and sinker. Another favorite was the one that has never been broken up. Hmmmm….makes one wonder.
  2. The  one that tries to hard – You say “I love Duran Duran” and they show up in a concert t-shirt from The Rio Tour. You say “I think daisy’s are pretty” and 20 dozen show up at your door. Now, I know this sounds crappy, but if you get this, added with a little more clingyness and a pinch of desparation and we get icked out. And not we like just us gals, like WE as a people. Desparate ain’t cute on none of us!
  3. “I love you but I just can’t do this” was a popular one for the female and the males I talked to.  There is usually never any reason with this excuse just their own fear or a case of schizophrenia kicking in. General consensus says this has been a blessing for all the folks there that were hurt at some point. The ones that hurt the most are the ones they are most grateful for, because they learned more about themselves.
  4. Another favorite is the Drama King. They are unexpected because they show up in the most mild mannered laid back (or so they seem) folks. A clear cut case of “don’t judge the book by it’s cover”. No matter what the situation, the feelings, etc. always take your damn time. People always reveal themselves from the very beginning  of any relationship– Just be open to the signs and above all, trust your gut.

It was a funny conversation, and one that makes me wonder if anyone else has any they’d like to share? Tell ya what, send me your red flag story and let me see which one I like best and I’ll use it in my next column! All submissions are due by Wednesday April 7th – Send them in to anneinprogress@me.com.

Can’t wait to see them!!

**Follow Me on Twitter – @Anniekemp**

Leave a Reply

