Quit or Go with the flow?

I’m not good at being a quitter.

Whether it’s quitting a bad relationship, smoking, eating sugar or sleeping in, this girl was always taught to never be a quitter!

(Mom, once again, it’s all your fault. You raised your daughter to never walk away.)

I attempted to quit sleeping “in” for the last two weeks. I wanted to get up at 6:00 AM and go for a run (I’m supposed to be training for a half-marathon) and watch the news before I start my day.

“How did it go, Anne?” some have asked. My answer? “Not well. Not well at all.”

I did set my alarm for 6:00 AM, but I am still not getting out of bed until 7:30 AM. Every night I tell myself “tomorrow is the day I will get up at 6 AM”. I used to do it, why can’t it happen now? What is my problem? Why is it that I always have to start something “tomorrow” and not just do it today?

Whatever, right? Life is too short for me to sweat out what time I going to wake up the next day. Somehow, even though I find a way to complain and moan, I get it all done. I think that happens to all of us a lot more in our everyday lives than we want to admit.

Right after I wrote that last blog, I read something (somewhere) about how people say that there are not enough hours in the day, yet we are all working with the same amount of hours that Einstein had. That Martin Luther King had. That Ghandi had.

Wanna go the other route? Jeffrey Dahmer had the same 24-hour time frame to work with, and he accomplished things. Not that they were great, but I bet he wasn’t complaining to people that he needed more time to do…well, to do what he did (too much?).

My point is that there is never enough time and we will always want to find a way to procrastinate and do something “tomorrow” – hell, according to “Annie” that’s when the sun’ll come out. Today is a good time as any, but sometimes tomorrow is just as sweet.

Guess you can’t blame it on the amount of or lack of hours in the day. Once again it all boils down to good old time management and how much energy you have.

I have to get back to work now – deadline’s still loom and things need to be checked off my “to-do” list so I can call them “ta-done”.

Hmmm – I may wait and do that work I just mentioned…tomorrow.

2 thoughts on “Quit or Go with the flow?

  1. Anne, it sounds like you need a motivational chum.. someone to help hold you to it. If you know your buddy is waiting on the corner to go running, aren’t you more likely to show up (and therefore get up)? I know that takes coordinating, etc, blah blah blah… and that seems like more work, but if you are in cahoots, you may find more success than going it alone. Know any neighbors with a common goal?

Leave a Reply

