Going Gluten-Free (as posted on “Life…My Way”, Frederick News-Post)

Going to the doctor can bring up lots of issues…well I guess it depends on what Doc you go to, huh? For me, it was a routine check-up that involved some lovely testing. I’ll just ump ahead to the part where I was told I get to eat fully gluten-free for the next three months.

I’ve had gluten-free foods a lot over the last few months on my own for other reasons, but having someone tell you that you have to do it makes it so much different (I have some commitment issues – I’ll just get that out there). Having to actually fully commit to no gluten sounds AWFUL, mainly because I hear “no bread, no beer.”

I’m not an idiot – I do know this doesn’t mean that I am going to be starving. In fact most grocery stores and a lot of restaurants actually carry many gluten-free options now, with so many folks out there having no tolerance for gluten. I’ve tried the gluten free beer before and frankly, not impressed. I will be heading back to Whole Foods in the next few days to stock up on a few supplies, so I’m hoping to find some other options available now. If not, well, I’ll just take it a day at a time.

As I get started on this journey on a personal level, I decided I’m going to take you guys with me…Why not? Let’s see what I can share every Wednesday with you all about me trying out new gluten-free products or attempting to cook. I think I may just post some pictures as well. Think good thoughts for my poor family and friends – they are the ones that might just suffer here.

In honor of my first Gluten-Free Wednesday Post, I’m posting a shopping list which is found on the The Gluten Free Chef – it’s here for anyone else wanting to give this a go. As I find other info, you can bet I’ll post it. If you want to write in and share your own discoveries or suggestions, please do! I’d love them, and I’m sure other readers would love to check out new ideas as well.

Well, time for breakfast…Thank goodness there’s gluten-free Bisquick (and this recipe for some fabulous cheesecake pancakes!) cause I’m making pancakes!

Leave a Reply

