Girl Scout Cookie Season..It’s on!

A little over a year ago, I was prepping for my second favorite time of year – and it’s only second because first place is a tie between Thanksgiving and Memorial Day .

GIRL SCOUT COOKIE SEASON!!!

My mouth waters at the mere thought. Oh, what bad day wouldn’t just go away with the gentle love of a Thin Mint? “What, CEO-Bossman Guy, you’re mad at me – I screwed up? Let me pop a Samoa in my mouth and think about this…”

I would search out those little cookie-entrepreneurs each season. I would pray, usually starting said prayer vigil, around the beginning of March. I would watch for them outside my grocery store, or on the weekends I knew to keep an eye out. There they were, those future leaders of America, setting up their little both with their wares. It was the one time I wanted someone to stop me as I was going into the grocery store. “Four dollars a box? Awesome! I’ll take three of these and two of these. Oh, and let’s get one of those for goof measure.”

Yes, Girl Scout Cookie Season was a favorite. Then I was told I couldn’t have gluten.

First of all, there are a lot of folks out there that attempt the recreation of a Girl Scout Thin Mint (hereafter known as GSTM). It’s nearly impossible! A local bakery here in LA has come very close, but when you are paying two dollars a cookie, it’s just not the same.

There was a ritual with these cookies. When I bought the GSTM’s, I’d immediately put them in the freezer. Nothing tastes as good as one of these babies straight from the freezer. It was a habit, something I looked forward to every Cookie Season.

I’m on a quest now. I want to see if I can find a recipe that comes close to one of these cookies I loved so dearly so I, too, can smile again and laugh when folks are talking about their Girls Scout Cookie purchases. I want to have a Samoa! I want them at my fingertips!

Apparently, someone else wanted the same thing. Why? Because I found a recipe online for gluten free (and casein free) Samoa Cookies. It looks like when you start making them that you are in for quite the commitment, but you know what?

I’m down for it.

Leave a Reply

